| Print page |

Home | The Event | News & Results | Game Schedule | Media Center | Teams | Spectators | Volunteers | Tickets | Webcast


Australia crowned champions of the world for the first time

Australia has finally won the major title that has eluded them in the sport of wheelchair rugby following a fantastic 67-56 win over Canada in the IWRF World Championship final in Odense, Denmark.

The 2014 wheelchair rugby world champions will be determined today at the Arena Fyn in Odense, Denmark.

After more than 1600 votes, Great Britain's Ayaz Bhuta has distanced himself from Canada's Zak Madell and Australia's Ryley Batt in the running for MVP as voted by the fans.

In a repeat of the 2012 London Paralympics gold medal match, the 2014 IWRF World Championship final will be contested between Australia and Canada tomorrow afternoon at the Arena Fyn in Odense, Denmark.

09.08.14 Day five review: World’s top four qualify for semi finals
09.08.14 Day six preview: Semifinal showdown between world’s best
09.08.14 Vote for Fans' Best Player Award
08.08.14 Day five preview: World’s best meet on final day of pool matches
07.08.14 Day four preview: Job only half done for medal contenders
07.08.14 YOU decide who wins the Fans' Best Player Award!
07.08.14 Day four review: Canada and Great Britain fight out a double overtime classic
06.08.14 Day three review: No surprises as favourites stand out once more
05.08.14 Day two preview: Favourites start title charge
05.08.14 Day two review: Gold medal favourites off to great start
05.08.14 Day three preview: Semifinal hopes on the line for many
04.08.14 Day one review: Hosts win opener
03.08.14 Day one preview: It's go time!
03.08.14 Parkour, celebrities and Denmark vs. Belgium to open the World Championship
30.07.14 Webcast to show all 42 games at IWRF World Championship

News Archive Search








Udvikling Fyn - Logo

Sport Event Danmark


OK Plus
Opel logo

Wolturnus - Logo


VM Rugby ticket

Facebook - BW - Logo

IWRF - Logo